Muller Jannie

About myself and everyone else.

I’m no GURU.

Guru

According to Wikipedia

a Guru is one who is regarded as having great knowledge, wisdom, and..

By that definition I am not rated as a Guru, I’ve been meditating on and off since 2006. I have had great experiences but as per most of the articles on this subject, every time you meditate it is a step towards the greater consciousness. You are both the teacher and the student, you learn what works for you and find out what you are most comfortable with. To be honest it is difficult in the fast track world we live in to do anything which is not either adding to your time or  money or in the IT world, related to gaining experience which will put you in a better position for the aforementioned items.

The direction that I’m heading is towards the fact that because of the rat race the is often little time to think about others. Others including, family, friends, the earth and who knows maybe even your own children. Its only recently that I’m aware I need to think about the “others”.

The next thing to follow now that the “others” have my attention is ; what to think?

Good tunes: http://www.heinbraat.com/

So I sat down during meditation (a big word that may intimidate you) but it actually involves taking an iPod with some good Hein Braat tunes. Lie down on the bed and clear your head. I also do the occasional breathing with your tummy, I always remember this info from one article that I read, apparently it explains the grin on Buddha’s face.

When I was in this relaxed state I cast my focus onto others, in doing that I realised I don’t actually know that many people not compared to those individuals who have 2500 friends on Facebook and 450 at their wedding. Given my social situation I decided to cast my attention to my parents and immediately family and the good green earth that we live on.

I had a great time relaxing, listened to music and though about thanks and healing for those people. I didn’t hear any metaphysical bells or whistles and after 20 minutes or so I sat up, turned of the iPod and went to bed.

Without really thinking about it too much the next day came as per normal, I did however speak to my parents and it turned out that they were feeling better and my brother as well. It  was only some time later that I put 2 and 2 together.

The moral of the story is that it took very little effort on my part to improve the general situation and decrease the entropy. Which I find very refreshing and different to the day-to-day way of doing and seeing things.

Worth a try in my book.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2011 by in Awesome +1 and tagged .
