Muller Jannie

About myself and everyone else.

wikipedia

Source of awesomeness.

Today I emailed wikipedia in a hope to add my name as a sponsor onto a page.

Hi guys
 
I’ve been reading wikipedia for years, I can’t think of anything online that is as awesome, except for how stuff works (about 5 years ago before it got invaded with adverts).
 
I don’t donate, I probably should but I feel if I donate I get nothing in return(although I do).  
I do enjoy owning stuff and like public attention I like it when I can say “I did that”, sure blame the ego but I’m aware of the ego and it’s pitfalls.
 
So my suggestion is that.
 
I could sponsor an article on wikipedia and have my name on it. Tiny fine print in a classy way without bastardizing the clean look of the site.
I could the proceed to sponsor all my favorite pieces potentially even bigger amounts for bigger articles. 
 
Thus if someone reads about John Dee or ancient manuscript they can see I sponsor it. 
 
Personally I think Facebook is rubbish, I want to connect with people on an intellectual level and by having a tiny print of my name on a article people who read it can go, hey! who is this and they have the same interests and joy! in this world of 7 billion I find someone that shares my thirst for knowledge and positive change and perhaps a kindred spirit who want to change the world.
 
A way to be found as opposed to finding. At the end of the day it’s about people.
 
You know, we write because we want to live forever, we put down our thoughts and opinions to eternity but it’s worth nothing if it’s not read and shared.
 
Just an idea.

Wikipedia is an awesome tool and instrumental in the future learning for everyone. There are movements however which claims that some of the topics are not as well reviewed or has even been removed when requested by organizations.

I’ve got no idea on the allegations since I always seem to find information relatively “neutral”, right and left. There is enough balance I reckon.

In my plea to Wikipedia I mention that it can be used as a great tool to bring intellectuals together, kind of like a FB but people won’t post about irrelevant things like “Sunbathing” but more on did you know that, or this or there is a movement here for cause X.

A hub for active , intellectual and non-bias change.

While researching some other information available through portals which has a better community feel to it I found this.

In 1965 Adlai Stevenson made a famous speech to the UN in which he said:

We travel together, passengers on a little space ship, dependent on its vulnerable reserves of air and soil; all committed for our safety to its security and peace; preserved from annihilation only by the care, the work, and, I will say, the love we give our fragile craft. We cannot maintain it half fortunate, half miserable, half confident, half despairing, half slave—to the ancient enemies of man—half free in a liberation of resources undreamed of until this day. No craft, no crew can travel safely with such vast contradictions. On their resolution depends the survival of us all.

It’s a great piece.

When I look at the things that are going on in the world, Iran, Israel which really has the same Egyptian and Syrian origins. The oldest civilization but yet they still argue petty things such as borders of countries. If the individuals are saying the don’t want to kill one another, Israel & Iran. http://ted.com/talks/view/id/1636

Who is the driving force. “They” or “them” .

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2013 by in Golden Age, Makes no sense and tagged , .
