Muller Jannie

About myself and everyone else.

Not so bad.

A while ago I made a post about the NZ folks chopping down trees for fun more than investing in sustainable economy.

The other evening I went out for a function and ended up sitting next to John. Now John is just your average guy who majored in Politics and computer science specifically in AI and is currently working at the BI department of an accounting firm. John also happens to know about trees, specifically the pine trees that’s been chopped down in New Zealand.

I’m still not sure how but during the evening the topic turned to our economy and me complaining about the lack of vision for sustainable development in New Zealand, ye I don’t just post on it fire-and-forget on my blog here but I also put my money where my mouth is, what ? .

In the interest of good journalism, that’s why I have to write this. As it turns out, John told me that the pine we chop down, although it’s not the only trees that we chop down but most of the pine that we export comes from the volcanic area around Taupo. Apparently in the 1920’s it was a desert and somehow the Canadian pine tree turned out the love the soil. Thus ever since it’s been farmed in the area. It’s this specific pine that grows from seed to harvest in about 14 years as opposed to the 22 years in Canada , it’s origin. So yes it is sort of sustainable. However I did mention to John that even though it’s sustainable “sort-of” it’s not free. It drains the soil of nutrients o which John replied that there is a special fertilizer being given to the trees and they also make use of crop rotation etc.

I saw I wasn’t really winning, John was adamant that there is no problem with it.

I was desperate trying to make my point but I was slowing realizing I might not win this.

Luckily I remembered a recent article in National Geographic or some really credible magazine that talks about the destruction of microbes that live in the forests and even though the forest can be grown from seed to paper in a couple of years it takes the microbes much longer to establish themselves and thus you do eventually have the degradation of the soil and natural plant live in the area.

It was no nail in coffin case but although we didn’t agree to disagree verbally. We were saved by food arriving.

Hows that butter chicken?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2013 by in no fun and tagged , , .
