Muller Jannie

About myself and everyone else.

Outliers.

This post is actually a day old in my head.

But luckily given the lack of time that I had to write it down, I thought of some examples and hopefully will end up writing something better.

I was standing in a hot shower the other night, 5 degrees outside and the hot shower generating tons of steam, besides the thought on how much more I enjoy living in tropical climate countries and regions like Kwazulu Natal,

kwazulu-natal-pic

Durban and the gold coast and Northwest province(Thabazimbi) in South Africa where I grew up which naturally trailed into how this nice hot shower is going to affect my bottom pocket if all this humidity makes it ways into paving the way for mold habitat. As I’m starting around the room looking at possible drafts visible in the steam which would mean the steam escaping the bathroom into the rest of my house I noticed a screw.

It’s a screw meant to secure a waterproof panel on the side of the room (a.k.a Wall) which is meant to have a little cap on it, the missing cap has not yet been found. The screw made me think, it didn’t just make me think only about whether I will end up removing all the caps on the screws to make this odd one , the norm or whether I’m going to end up having to buy a packet of 50 to fix it or should I maybe just accidently stick one in my pocket when I’m in the hardware store, surely one could get stuck to my boot.

If the bible was correct, I’d be guilty of theft and many other things at this point. I don’t think it is, that doesn’t mean I’m not a thief though. I think what the bible was trying to get at is the fact that thoughts manifest, in a parallel universe. Thus in one universe I did in fact become a thief , the science of probability…

Surprisingly (if you follow my blog) this post doesn’t have anything to do with religion, but with this uncapped screw compromising on the aesthetics of my bathroom.

The screw has a strange head, not the phillips head File:Screw Head - Phillips.svg or a flat File:Screw Head - Slotted.svg, it has a square head Screw Head - Robertson.svg. A.K.A. The Robertson (for some reason a western movie theme hums in my head) (Thanks wikipedia for the content, not the western theme.)

Robertson

Robertson, also known as a square,[18] or Scrulox[19] screw drive has a square-shaped socket in the screw head and a square protrusion on the tool. Both the tool and the socket have a taper, which makes inserting the

tool easier, and also tends to help keep the screw on the tool tip without the user needing to hold it there. (The taper’s earliest reason for being was to make the manufacture of the screws practical using cold forming of the heads,[20] but its other advantages helped popularize the drive.) Robertson screws are commonplace in Canada, though they have been used elsewhere[21] and have become much more common in other countries in recent decades. Robertson screwdrivers are easy to use one-handed, because the tapered socket tends to retain the screw, even if it is shaken.[21] They also allow for the use of angled screw drivers and trim head screws. The socket-headed Robertson screws are self-centering, reduce cam out, stop a power tool when set, and can be removed if painted-over or old
Then I thought about the human kind and the metric system.and rusty.[21] In industry, they speed up production and reduce product damage.[21]

Back when anonymous formed I had a discussion with one of the members. I thought the whole anon thing was out of wack, you won’t get business minded people behind you because of the anon branding, it implies you hide behind something or are up to no good. We ended up agreeing to disagree, personally I think it was the mask and other paraphernelia that they wanted more than the name, the mask is pretty cool but you shouldn’t be surprised that one day if anon conquers the world those make will come off , then you need to deal with the fact that your best friend might be Indian, Asian,Haitian, African or even, American!

The discussion ended by the statement which I firmly back (since I said it).

One day when we learn what the right thing to do is, it would be as normal as the air we breathe, we won’t argue about it, it would be so natural that we won’t even notice it.

I notice the screw, because it’s out. It’s not the same.

If the human race up to this point have not decided on something as simple as a screw, I ask you ladies and gents, how the @#%%$ are we going to decide on world hunger and social issues. Going on 200 years later, America-land-of-the-free-and-the-brave are still one of the ONLY countries that don’t conform to the metric system.

 The usage of the metric system varies around the world. According to the US Central Intelligence Agency’s Factbook (2007), the International System of Units has been adopted as the official system of weights and measures by all nations in the world except for BurmaLiberia and the United States,[76] while NIST has identified the United States is the only industrialised country where the metric system is not the official system of units.[77] However, reports published since 2007 hold this is no longer true of Liberia or Burma.

This is just ridiculous  is it because the Americans are grumpy because the french came up with it, if it was a developer , a F/500 CEO or a farmer. If you didn’t adapt you would not be in business, however for some reason the United States has a better reason, better than any other country in the world for not converting to metric. Honestly.

I don’t care much for measurement. Although I think in this regard I might have more in common with Osama  than Obama, at least we can sit down and talk about how long a piece of string is. By the way, I find it really strange that nothing in the media have yet drawn a parallel between the two. I should coin the phrase,

The only difference between Osama and Obama, is one letter.

In terms of the screw in my wall, like America, I have let it be for now. Not because it had some victory of the other screws but simply because it serves to remind me, to see the world from the perspective of my fellow man, we all have to end up fixing a light bulb or a screw. We need to start preparing ourselves to compromise on things, be wrong. It is not a bad thing to be wrong, it keep us humble and it let us take chances. It builds character and opinions and enable healthy debate.

So next time you put in a screw and you have to carry 3 types of screwdrivers with you, think of what you could compromise on the make the world , perhaps just your own for now, a better place.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2013 by in Awesome +1, Makes no sense and tagged , , , , .
