Muller Jannie

About myself and everyone else.

What’s for Lunch

Unfortunately I only thought of making this post after I ate my lunch. SO I don’t have a picture!

Barley & Bean wrap with spinach.

Ingredients

  • Barley
  • Lentils
  • Butter Beans
  • Carrots
  • Baby Spinach
  • Wraps – The whole grain no\low sodium ones.

The barley and lentils cook for ages. You can throw in the butter beans towards the end (yes drain them…). Chop the carrot (I prefer with the skin , apparently it has more nutrients this way says Jamie Oliver) I prefer to slide it to make nice thin long pieces for a wrap . You can leave the spinach whole it’s easy enough to manage. As for the size etc. The barley and lentils keeps really well so you could probably have a couple of these wraps from a single batch. You can also cook in the carrots, maybe if you don’t have teeth etc. 🙂 I like chewy foods and I like raw carrots.

  • Optional you can also add avocado. In fact I’ll add avocado to anything.

I love avocado’s a lot. I currently have 3 trees which I have planted from different avo seeds we kept out after buying them at the local store. I hear you say avo trees takes a good three years to bare any fruit. I hear you. It takes a while but don’t be so short-sighted. I’ll plant them in my yard to replace some flowery deciduous plants which I can replace with the avo. 3 Years from now I’ll either eat avos or I’ll see the house with avo trees for the next person to eat avos. It’s not just about us, it’s about the next person and the next person. If I’m lucky all 3 makes it alive. I had my cat take a fancy to pulling off the leaves off one.

I have a 4th avo seed waiting to sprout but it’s pretty cold at the moment and I don’t have my greenhouse going yet. I’m waiting for finance so to speak.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2013 by in Plant Based Nutrition \ Vegan and tagged , , , .
